Q and A with basketball coach Andy Topie

Ozd3SSz2_400x400.jpg

by Devon Williams
Staff Writer

Andy Topie is the men’s JV basketball coach, assistant coach of the men’s varsity basketball team, and manager of the Warrior Center at Rochester College.

What brought you to RC and why do you choose to work here?

“I originally came here for basketball during my college years. I liked it so much that I decided to come back to be a coach.”

What's the easiest and hardest part of your job? Why?

“The easiest part is the basketball side of things, because I enjoy it. The hardest part is the paperwork side of things.”

What's the most rewarding part of your job?

“Getting to be around the players... at the end of the day that’s what it’s all about.”

What do you do outside of your job to stay busy?

“Exercise a little bit or whenever I can, but mostly my time outside of my job is spent with my kids and my wife.”

Where did you grow up?

“A small town up north called Gladwin, Michigan which is about two hours north of Rochester. It’s just a small town with two or three stop lights and a few pizza places.”

Did you enjoy living there?

“At the time no, but I’ve learned to respect it as I moved away.”

What’s your favorite thing to do in the Rochester area? Or in Michigan?

“My favorite thing to do in Michigan is going to Boyne City; I go there in the summer and sit on the beach. I don't get to do much in Rochester but hang with my kids and go to the park with them.”

What is your most prized possession?

“My most prized possessions are my championship rings that I won as a coach and as a player.”

What is your most embarrassing moment?

”Goofing around with my buddies, kicking field goals after school, and I fell straight on my back. It took me a minute to get back up.”

What’s the biggest obstacle you had to overcome?

“The most recent one was when I tore my achilles a year ago this October. It made me realize a lot I took for granted. Nothing was easy and it was a humbling process.”

Who was your biggest influence?

“My brother in law. I was 12 or 13 when my sisters got married and they’re 9 years older than me. My brother in law is a great person and he carried himself in a way that one would want to model themselves after.”