The 5 Love Languages Holiday Gift Giving Guide

By Rebecca Allen
Shield Staff



Christmas may be “the most wonderful time of the year”,but for college students, the weeks leading up to Christmas tend to be more stressful than wonderful. Between finals and required gift giving with no money, we college students are under a lot of pressure to get a lot done in a very short amount of time. But I’m here to give you some good news. You could call it a cheat sheet for simple gift giving for a busy holiday season.

First of all, if you don’t know what the five love languages are, check out this awesome article from one of RC’s very own, Shiloh Covell. Now that you know all about what the five love languages are, here’s an easy way to apply those love languages to your Christmas gifts this year:

Words of Affirmation

People whose love language is words of affirmation really just want to be told that they are loved, that they are important and that they are valued. Some of the best ways to do this are by writing that person a letter, by telling that person that he or she did a great job on their project, by complimenting that person on his or her fashion sense and generally just taking the time to give genuine, positive feedback to that person.

Acts of Service

I’m not an expert on love languages, but I feel qualified to say that most women who are mothers, are either born with the acts of service love language, or they develop it over time. You can easily become your mom’s favorite by asking her if you can help her cook dinner, clean up after dinner, wrap gifts, run errands, or any other task that she is usually responsible for. If you want to really win major brownie points, do at least three to five of these acts of service by the end of the Christmas season.

Quality Time

In my opinion, everyone has the love language of quality time, it just looks different to each of us. For some people, sitting together at home and watching a Netflix marathon is considered quality time, while others would rather go to a concert. Other people would rather go to a coffee shop and talk for a few hours, but others may enjoy playing a game or sport together. I know one thing for sure; anyone whose love language is quality time will tell you that if one or more of the people involved in the event are distracted by their smartphone, it definitely doesn’t qualify as “quality” time together.

Physical Touch

Let’s be honest; physical touch is awkward. Google how to implement the love language of physical touch and you will find a lot of articles about physical touch in marriage, but not a whole lot about physical touch in platonic relationships. But that doesn’t mean people with the love language of physical touch should be overlooked; it just means being more intentional about how and when to give the gift of physical touch. So during the Christmas season, be on guard for family members who like to give extra long hugs, or a punch in the arm, because those are the people whose love language is sure to be physical touch.

Receiving Gifts

My love language happens to be receiving gifts, and what I’ve found is that people with this love language also tend to be very sentimental. Which is a good thing, because it means that a gift does not necessarily have to be expensive or extravagant in order to be a great gift. Anything from a framed photo of you and your best friend, to a memento from a shared vacation, to a personalize ornament will count as a special gift for anyone whose love language is receiving gifts. Oh, and in most cases, people whose love language is receiving gifts also really enjoy giving gifts, so it’s a win-win for everyone.