Stanton Leads RC's ACE Lab Into The Future

Q&A with Michele Stanton, RC ACE Administrative Assistant 

This is the fourth in a series of the people who make Rochester College what it is. These employees serve behind the scenes, but are crucial to the operations of the college.

By Johnathan Lykins
Shield Staff

Q: What is your position at RC?

A: "I am the ACE Administrative Assistant."

Q: Describe what you do on a typical day.

A: "I oversee the daily operations of the tutoring center."

Q: What brought you to RC and why do you choose to work here?

A: "I worked here as a student. I really enjoyed the people I worked with and the community of the college."

Q: What's the easiest and hardest part of your job? 

A: "The easiest part of the job is the interactions I make with the tutors and students. The hardest part of the job is being conscientious of how the ACE is now and all the ways it can be better and evolve for the future."

"Interactions are the easiest because students are what make the job worth it. I like to see the progress they make and their growth here at RC. Being conscientious of how the ACE lab is now and the future of the ACE lab is the hardest part because you have to think of two different timelines at once. You have to think about all the ways that you can make the ACE lab better how it is for students, but also think about how the culture of the college will change in the future and how you can plan towards that trajectory."

Q: What's the most rewarding part of your job?

A: "The most rewarding part of my job is the relationships I get to make with the students, tutors and with the faculty and staff."

Q: What do you do outside of your job to stay sane, relieve stress, etc.? or What are your hobbies?

A: "I like to read suspense books a lot of the time. I like to listen to music, big country music fan, and I am really involved in church. My husband has a youth pastor position with the youth group. To relieve stress, I like to be outside, I like to take walks or runs, and do stuff like that."

Q: Where did you grow up? 

A: "I grew up in Roseville, Michigan, which is about 10-15 minutes outside of Detroit, so a little suburb there. I lived there pretty much all my life and when I was younger it was a pretty good neighborhood."

Q: What is your favorite thing to do in the Rochester area? Or in Michigan?

A: "I don't do that much in the Rochester area because I don't live in Rochester. In Michigan, probably one of my favorite things is going to the Great Lakes. Lake Michigan is probably my favorite."

Q: What is your most prized possession?

A: "When we first started dating, my husband gave me a necklace, where, when you look at it one way it's like a cross, but when you flip it over it's like an ichthus, like a fish. I wore while we were dating, when we got engaged, and I still have it."

Q: What is your most embarrassing moment?

A: "I do things where I don't think a lot of the time. Like, I will walk out the door with two different shoes on, or I don't pay attention and run into things a lot. I run into doors. I don't see things all the time. Someone could be standing in front of me and people have scared me that way before, where I just didn't know they were there and then all of the sudden, I realized it and get scared."

Q: What is the biggest obstacle you've had to overcome?

A: "My biggest obstacle growing up probably was during the time I went to high school and college. I had to work and pay my way through school. Neither of my parents went to college and I lived in a rough neighborhood as it was, but yeah, it was hard. In college, I was planning a wedding, working, and going to school all at the same time at one point in my life and that was probably the biggest obstacle I have had to overcome."

Q: Who was your biggest influence?

A: "My parents, probably my mom was my biggest influence. Their life and advice is something I could always take away from; I'm probably more like them than I think. I was just always so close to my family that it was hard to take away from anything else."