Cavanagh represents RC at Macomb site

laura c.jpg

by MacKenzie Ings
Features Editor

10 Questions with Laura Cavanagh, site coordinator at Rochester College’s location at Macomb Community College.

Q:  What brought you to RC and why do you choose to work here?

A:  My boyfriend’s mom is actually Julie Harper [director of admissions at RC], and she told me about the job. I choose to work here because everyday is different and I love the in-person interaction I get to have with students and professors everyday.

Q:  Describe what you do on a typical work day.

A:  There really isn't a typical work day; everyday is different. I normally come into my office and answer emails and then from there it could be speaking to a class, creating a degree plan, following up with students, or even doing recruitment.

Q:  What have you learned about RC since being here?

A: I have learned a lot about the accelerated program, since that is what I primarily work with, but I have also really like learning about the traditional program since both programs will be integrated soon.

Q:  What is your proudest achievement in life?

A:  My proudest achievement is the work life balance I have accomplished. I am able to work my 9-5 job while also pursuing my art career and staying active by cycling and doing yoga.

Q:  Where did you work previously? Tell me about that job and responsibilities.

A:  Previously, I worked at Whole Foods Market as a team trainer. I worked with customers in the prepared foods department and I also trained new employees and scheduled and performed trainings when we had updated modules. I also put together demos and workshops when need be.

Q:  Where did you grow up? Describe.

A:  I actually grew up in Rochester Hills, and I love it. The fall colors and the atmosphere are just beautiful. I liked it so much, I moved back recently and I live in Downtown Rochester now.

Q:  What is your pet peeve in the workplace?

A:  My biggest pet peeve in the workplace is just a lag in response time. I like to get things done in a timely fashion, so it's a little stressful waiting on others.

Q:  What are your hobbies? Exotic? Stress-relieving?

A:  I love to cycle and do yoga. I also love to cook, but my passion is definitely art!

Q:  Tell me about your pets. Are you a dog person or a cat person?

A:  I currently don't have any pets, but when I was little I had a bunny named “Thumper.” I would consider myself a dog person.

Q:  What do you go home to everyday after work?

A:  I usually either do yoga or cook dinner, or both.

Q:  Who is your biggest influence? Role model?

A:  My biggest role model is my mom. She just did such a great job of balancing everything in life, especially being a single mom.  She did everything on her own and was always so sweet and caring to everyone. She took care of a home, raised kids, and advanced in her career, so I really look up to her.